Heart Chakra: Center of love, compasson, joy, peace
Sanskrit Name: Anahata   Seed Sound: YAM
Color: Green/pink   Sense: Touch   Element: Air
Right: To love and be loved    Statement: ‘I love’ Vibrational Note: F  Location: Center of chest Timeline: 28-35yrs   

The fourth (heart) chakra is located in the center of the chest. It is associated with the colors green or pink. Green represents individual love for a person, group, or part of ‘all that is’. Pink represents universal love for all. It is the center for love, healing, balance, compassion, self-acceptance, and healthy relationships. It integrates a balance of opposites: yin/yang, mind/body, male/female, persona/shadow self, ego/unity. The Heart Chakra integrates our masculine and feminine energy as well as our human self and True (divine) Self. The heart center considered to be the Seat of the Soul, the place where our spirit, our true self lives, the self that is eternally pure unchanged by circumstances. This chakra manifests compassion and love. From a place of security and confidence the heart brings a sense of responsibility and pure behavior towards others.
It may help to get a feel of heart chakra concepts by reviewing these words from The Sevenfold Journey:

balance        relationship        receiving        grace       love        openness        breath        equilibrium        compassion        giving        affinity       peace

The statement that embodies the heart chakra is ‘I love’. Birthrights of the heart chakra are; right to love and the right be loved. The heart chakra develops throughout life but is most strongly influenced during the years 28-35. Information that is stored inside the root chakra includes; connections or ‘heart strings’ to those whom we love.

A person with a balanced, healthy heart chakra is able to love deeply and feel compassion for all, able to express and receive abundant love. With a deep sense of peace and centeredness, we experience empathy, and look for the Divine in everyone. We are humanitarian, supportive, happy and fulfilled. We realize that to love others is to love ourselves, because we are all one.

Hurtful situations that often affect heart chakra are; divorce, separation, grief, emotional abuse, abandonment, adultery. The 2nd and 4th chakras are uniquely interrelated. If the sacral chakra has been blocked, through rape, incest, abuse or shame, it affects the balance of the heart chakra. When the heart chakra is unbalanced we have issues with accepting others and ourselves. We may not feel balanced or centered. Our sense of peace is lost and our relationships feel like they are on shaky ground.

When the heart chakra is under-active or blocked, one may be cold, distant, sad, and bitter. We may be emotionally closed, unable to express or receive love. We may feel isolated, unfulfilled, and withdrawn. We feel separate from God and our Higher Self. We may relate and act from a place of fear rather than love.

An over-active heart chakra is may be demonstrated by being critical and judgmental of self and others. Love may be rooted in selfishness and is often suffocating. One may be demanding, moody, possessive, controlling, suspicious, melodramatic, manipulative and afraid of letting go.

Heart chakra questions for self-awareness:
Do I love and accept myself for who I am? Do criticize or judge people?
Do I fear being rejected or abandoned? Have I let past betrayals or wounds heal?
Am I envious and jealous of what other people have?
Do I allow love to flow freely through me? Do I have compassion and empathy for others?
Am I forgiving? Do I harbor resentments?
Do I surround myself with demanding people? Am I overly demanding towards others?

Physical Associations: The heart chakra governs certain physical areas of the body: thymus gland (controls the immune system), heart, blood circulatory system, lungs, rib cage, diaphragm, breasts, esophagus, upper back, shoulders, arms, and hands.

Physical ailments and dysfunctions of the heart chakra include: heart or lung conditions, breathing issues like asthma, allergies or sleep apnea, pain in the chest, upper back or shoulders, carpal tunnel syndrome, breast cancers, hypertension, pneumonia, circulatory issues or immune system disorders.

Gwen Austin
Gwen Austin