Each chakra has a specific location and purpose to keep us balanced physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually.

Crown Chakra

Crown Chakra – Cosmic consciousness, spiritual connectedness
Sanskrit Name – Sahasrara   Seed Sound – AH
Location – top of the head   Color – violet, white, gold               Sense – empathy, unity   Element – thought
Physical organs – brain and pituitary gland

The seventh (crown) chakra relates to consciousness and pure awareness, bringing knowledge, wisdom, understanding, spiritual connection, and bliss. It is the door of spiritual awakening, connection with our spiritual self. It allows us to see the bigger picture and live in the moment.

Third Eye Chakra

Third Eye (brow) Chakra – Ability to focus on and see the big picture.
Sanskrit Name – Ajna   Seed Sound – AUM
Location – forehead between the eyes.   Color – indigo   Sense – intuition, perception   Element – inner sound
Physical organs – autonomic nervous system, hypothalamus, pineal gland

The sixth (third eye or brow) chakra relates to physically and intuitively seeing life clearly. It involves psychic perception, imagination, wisdom, interpretation and our ability to make resulting decisions. Our perspectives and true motivations are found here which direct our actions.

Throat Chakra

Throat Chakra – Ability to communicate.
Sanskrit Name – Vishuddha, Vishuddhi   Seed Sound – HAM
Location – base of throat   Color – sky blue    Sense – hearing   Element – ether (deep space)   Physical organs – throat, lungs, and thyroid, brachial or cervical plexus

The fifth (throat) chakra is about expressing and receiving information, including symbolic and vibrational sensing. It involves communication, sound, creativity, and self-expression. Expression can take many forms from basic communication wants and feelings to a vast array of artistic expressions.

Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra – Ability to love
Sanskrit Name – Anahata    Seed Sound – YAM
Location – center of chest
Color – green, pink   Sense – touch   Element – Air
Physical organs – heart, lungs, liver, circulatory system, thymus

The fourth (heart) chakra allows us to love deeply, feel compassion and have a deep sense of peace and centeredness. It relates to our perceptions of love relationships with people close to us. The heart is also where the spiritual, true self resides. Moving away from ego, towards this awareness, fear is destroyed and a healing peace grows within.

Solar Plexus Chakra

Solar Plexus Chakra – Power center, confidence, emotions
Sanskrit Name – Manipura   Seed Sound – RAM
Location – upper abdomen, (between navel and lower chest)
Color – yellow   Sense – eyesight   Element – fire, the sun
Physical organs – digestive system, liver, gall bladder, adrenals

The third (solar plexus or naval) chakra is the power chakra. It rules our personal power, self esteem, autonomy, and sense of purpose. It has to do with confidence and being comfortable with who we are. This is where we store our emotions. It is also an intuitive chakra, where we get our ‘gut instincts’.

Sacral Chakra

Sacral Chakra – Sensation, pleasure, emotions, flow
Sanskrit Name – Svadhisthana   Seed Sound – VAM
Location – lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel.
Color – orange   Sense – taste, appetite   Element – water
Physical organs -reproductive organs

The second (sacral) chakra is the chakra of creativity, healthy sexuality, and the desire and ability to feel pleasure. It is also associated with our emotional body, and deeply feeling our emotions. It has to do with our ability to be graceful, fluid, and able to accept change.

Root Chakra

Root (base) Chakra – Foundation, security, groundedness
Sanskrit Name – Muladhara Seed Sound – LAM
Location – base of spine
Color – red   Sense – smell   Element – earth
Physical organs – kidneys, bladder, and spine

The first (root) chakra represents our foundation, security, sense of being stable and grounded. It is related to our survival, having our base needs met such as health, finances, family, and food. It has to do with our connection to our bodies and the physical realm.

Gwen Austin
Gwen Austin