The Heart Chakra


heart chakraThe fourth (heart) chakra is located in the center of the chest. It is associated with the colors green or pink. Green represents individual love for a person or part of ‘all that is”.  Pink represents universal love. It is the center for love, healing, balance, compassion, self-acceptance, and healthy relationships. The heart center considered to be the ‘Seat of the Soul’, the place where our spirit, our true self lives. This chakra manifests compassion and love.

The statement that embodies the heart chakra is “I love”. Birthrights of the heart chakra are; right to love and the right be loved. The heart chakra develops throughout life but is most strongly influenced during the years 28-35. Information that is stored inside the root chakra is our connections to those we love. 

A person with a balanced, healthy heart chakra is able to love deeply and feel compassion for all, able to express and receive abundant love. With a deep sense of peace and centeredness, we experience empathy, and look for the Divine in everyone.  We realize that to love others is to love ourselves, because we are all one.

Hurtful situations that often affect heart chakra are; divorce, separation, grief, emotional abuse, abandonment, adultery. The 2nd and 4th chakras are uniquely interrelated. If the sacral chakra has been blocked, through rape, incest, abuse or shame, it affects the balance of the heart chakra. When the heart chakra is unbalanced we have issues with accepting others and ourselves. We may not feel balanced, centered or at peace.

When the heart chakra is under-active or blocked, one may be cold, distant, sad, and bitter. We may be emotionally closed, unable to express or receive love.  We feel separate from God and our Higher Self. We may relate and act from a place of fear rather than love.  

An over-active heart chakra is may be shown as critical and judgmental of self and others. Love may be rooted in selfishness and is often suffocating. One may be demanding, moody, possessive, controlling, suspicious, melodramatic, manipulative and afraid of letting go.  

Heart chakra questions for self-awareness:
Do I love and accept myself for who I am? Do criticize or judge people?
Do I fear being rejected or abandoned? 
Am I envious and jealous of what other people have? 
Do I allow love to flow freely through me? 
Am I forgiving? Do I harbor resentments? 
Do I surround myself with demanding people? 

Am I overly demanding towards others? 

The heart chakra governs certain physical areas of the body. To learn more check out the Heart Chakra page.
Learn how to bring balance and healing to the heart chakra here.