Love Languages

Ain’t love grand? How do we keep it alive? I came across info on “The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts by Gary Chapman”. Click on the image below to check out the book on Amazon.

“Between busy schedules and long days, expressing love can fall by the wayside. We forget to compliment, to give gifts “just because,” to linger in our embrace. The things that say “I love you” seem to either not get said or not get through. This is a book about saying it-and hearing it-clearly. No gimmicks. No psychoanalyzing. Just learning to express love in your spouse’s language.” Gary D Chapman

The basic concept is based on our ability to be introspective and express our desires and emotions. And we all have unique needs and preferences in what makes us feel loved and cared for. But, we tend to love others the way that we, ourselves want to be loved. Taking some time to learn what makes your partner and your self feel truly satisfied and loved is key. Listening and sharing our needs and desires often goes by the wayside. I even remember the days where I felt like my spouse should know what I want and need… that it wouldn’t be the same or sincere if I have to ask or tell him what I want him to do to make me feel loved. Well, I’m older now. I have learned that communication is an essential skill. There is no shame in expressing yourself! My problem is that I want all of them!  The 5 love languages of love are:

1) Words of Affirmation

2) Acts of Service

3) Receiving Gifts

4) Quality Time

5) Physical Touch

Want to know what makes you and your partner feel loved and appreciated?                          Take this quiz. Enjoy!