Introduction to The Chakras

Chakras are energy centers in the body. There are seven main chakras  arranged vertically from the base of the spine to the top of the head. ‘Chakra’ is a Sanskrit word meaning ‘wheel’. These wheels are believed to spin as they receive and transmit energy.   Chakras

Read more

Sun Salutation (prayer in motion)

The Sun Salutation (Surya Namaskar) is a dynamic series of yoga postures used to greet and honor the Sun as an aspect of God and vital to all creation. In Sanskrit, Namaskar means ‘to bow to’ or ‘to adore.’ Each Salutation begins and ends with the Anjali mudra (joined

Read more

Shall We OM???

Om (or Aum) is a universal sound that represents a connectedness to all that is. We often use it to center ourselves before class or to close a yoga or meditation class. According to ancient beliefs, all speech and thought originated from the sound of aum. It is often

Read more

Saucha (cleanliness and purity)

When we have clutter, negativity, toxicity, and chaos, the atmosphere is not conducive to peace, freedom, and contentment. We may feel stuck, depressed, and unable to move forward. Saucha is the first of the Niyamas (personal guidelines for living) and means cleanliness and purity. Saucha has inner and

Read more

6 Tips for Eating with Moderation 

  According to yogic philosophy, balance and moderation in all things is key for a healthy happy life. When we have a ‘dieting mentality’ we tend to lay down the law and certain foods are off limits. Eventually these forbidden foods become available and we may overindulge,

Read more


Brahmacharya is the fourth of the Yamas (guidelines for living).  Brahmacharya is most often translated as living in balance and moderation with reverence for the life force energy within us. It reminds us that our life force energy is both limited and precious. We are encouraged to use our energy wisely so

Read more
Page 2 of 212